The Sixties Radical

The trumpets are blaring. The drums are beating away. No one is listening to the sound of our country being taken over from the inside out. We are blind. We cannot see the truth or as my dad would say, “You can’t see the forest through the trees.”

 Since 1962, God has come under attack in this country. The good Christian folks did nothing. They stood by and said not a peep.

Most Christians stayed locked behind the four walls of the church and prayed. For me this means nothing. A person can sit all day in church and pray. You can ask God for help but if action doesn’t accompany prayer, nothing will happen. I don’t care how many ways you cut it to Sunday faith without works is dead.

Part of me wants to scream wake up people. It’s time to get up off your butts and start screaming, yelling, saying, ” Enough is enough. I am not going take it anymore.”

Where are the screams? Where is the yelling? The silence tells me everything I want to know. Yes, I know the mantra, ” I will pray for you brother. Let’s pray for our nation. Let’s pray for our President (Gag me with a spoon) ad nasuim.”

This bugs me to no end. I can dig prayer. God has worked miracles in my life through prayer. I am a huge advocate of prayer. Prayers to God almighty have saved my hide many a day and night.

This is my experience. Praying is key but getting up off my butt and taking action was very important too.

I started drinking when I was thirteen. Neither of my parents drank. I was raised in Jewish household. My mother had a glass wine with dinner. I remember my mother saying ” I am beginning to feel it so I better stop.”

I said to myself, “Jeez lady that’s why I drank the stuff.” I drank for the buzz. I drank for the prize at the bottom of the bottle. Then throw in some speed, heron, pot, and some downers and you have a great mix to meet Moses and the old heads.

Being raised to read and study the Bible and Torah, the biblical and Torah references never leave you. They become a part of your life.

Earlier that year I was tossed out of a major university. I got drunk and beat the crap out of the dean of students. My mother had to come and get her drunken drugged out son, and take him back home.

I just lost my scholarship. I was sent home in disgrace. Yet, I thought I had it together.

 People prayed for me. I prayed to God to help me.

God did. He provided me with an answer. I had to go to a treatment center and get help. I did. God gave me an answer but I had to get up off my butt and go there.

If you don’t believe me, try this. Sit inside a closet all day and pray for a hot dog. If a hot dog is squeezed through the keyhole, please let me know about that. I have been looking for a deal like that all my life.

If you still doubt me, check out of the Bible. James 2:26: “Just as the body is dead without breath, so also faith is dead without good works.”

James 2: 14-17 ” 14What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? 15Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. 16If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? 17In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.”

James 2: 20-24 further states: ” 20You foolish man, do you want evidence that faith without deeds is useless[d]? 21Was not our ancestor Abraham considered righteous for what he did when he offered his son Isaac on the altar? 22You see that his faith and his actions were working together, and his faith was made complete by what he did. 23And the scripture was fulfilled that says, “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness,”[e] and he was called God’s friend. 24You see that a person is justified by what he does and not by faith alone.”

Lets take this one step further. Imagine if our founding fathers did nothing. They talked and talked and talked about freedom but did nothing. Suppose John Adams, Ben Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, Patrick Henry, and the rest stayed locked up in the Independence Hall. All they did was pray. Imagine if they never lifted a finger to fight the British and expected God to do it for them what might have happened?

 Thank God they didn’t. These men were men of action. Adams, Franklin, Jefferson, Rush, and the rest knew that the real power came from God. Yet, they knew faith without works is dead.

Let these words of our founding fathers serve as fuel for the fire in our fight against the evil that is attacking our country from within.

 John Adams and John Hancock:
We Recognize No Sovereign but God, and no King but Jesus!

John Adams:
” The general principles upon which the Fathers achieved independence were the general principals of Christianity… I will avow that I believed and now believe that those general principles of Christianity are as eternal and immutable as the existence and attributes of God.”
• “[July 4th] ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty.”
-John Adams in a letter written to Abigail on the day the Declaration was approved by Congress.

“We have no government armed with power capable of contending with human passions unbridled by morality and religion. Avarice, ambition, revenge, or gallantry, would break the strongest cords of our Constitution as a whale goes through a net. Our Constitution was made only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other.” –October 11, 1798.

We have no government armed with power capable of contending with human passions unbridled by morality and religion. Avarice, ambition, revenge, or gallantry, would break the strongest cords of our Constitution as a whale goes through a net. Our Constitution was made only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other.” –October 11, 1798.

“I have examined all religions, as well as my narrow sphere, my straightened means, and my busy life, would allow; and the result is that the Bible is the best Book in the world. It contains more philosophy than all the libraries I have seen.” December 25, 1813 letter to Thomas Jefferson.

“Without Religion this World would be Something not fit to be mentioned in polite Company, I mean Hell.” [John Adams to Thomas Jefferson, April 19, 1817].

Samuel Adams:
” He who made all men hath made the truths necessary to human happiness obvious to all… Our forefathers opened the Bible to all.” [ “American Independence,” August 1, 1776. Speech delivered at the State House in Philadelphia].’

” Let divines and philosophers, statesmen and patriots, unite their endeavors to renovate the age by impressing the minds of men with the importance of educating their little boys and girls, inculcating in the minds of youth the fear and love of the Deity… and leading them in the study and practice of the exalted virtues of the Christian system.” [October 4, 1790].

In closing Jesus gave us the perfect example of action.

Take a look at Luke 19:45-48:” 45Then he entered the temple area and began driving out those who were selling. 46″It is written,” he said to them, ” ‘My house will be a house of prayer'[c]; but you have made it ‘a den of robbers.'[d]” 47Every day he was teaching at the temple. But the chief priests, the teachers of the law and the leaders among the people were trying to kill him. 48Yet they could not find any way to do it, because all the people hung on his words.”

Time is running out. What will you do?

Leave a Reply

