It is hard to keep one’s emotions in check

images9wr9o8vr

The hardest lesson to learn is to keep my emotions in check. This means I am learning not to become self-absorbed and do my part to contribute to the world. This is same thing my teacher Pastor Steve Gray says all the time. It is not about me. It is all about G-d and pleasing HIM.

Severing self is making me a G-d unto my own eyes and thus I am deceiving myself into thinking I am G-d. This is a lie. I am serving an idol not the G-d of my father’s Avraham, Yitz’chak, and Ya’akov.

The longest process for me is dying to self. This is going on every day.

My daily prayer is to left Yeshua have HIS way with me so I become a slave to the L-rd of my life Yeshua the Jewish Messiah.

Moses then began to instruct the Jewish people regarding how they were to conduct their conquest of the Land of Israel.

[Moses told the Jewish people,] “If you besiege a city . . . you must not destroy its [fruit] trees.” Deuteronomy 20:19

Our emotions are the measure of our maturity. Many people are gifted with superior intelligence or talent, but truly refined emotions are achieved by shedding childlike self-absorption and by contributing to the world. Similarly, fruit-bearing trees provide us with nourishment and delight at their own expense. In contrast, barren trees merely impress us with their stately presence; they may perhaps offer us shade, but they sacrifice nothing in so doing.

Therefore, when we seek instruction and inspiration, we should turn to people who are not only intelligent and talented, but who consistently utilize their gifts for the world’s greater good. And of course, we should emulate the example of the fruit tree ourselves.1 Likutei Sichot, vol. 4, pp. 1114–1119; ibid., vol. 24, pp. 115–120

http://www.chabad.org/dailystudy/dailywisdom.asp?tdate=09%2F10%2F2016

Leave a Reply

