First word out of my mouth give thanks to G-d

imagesalvm2u34

When I walk up in the morning the first utterances out of my mouth are these very simple yet strong words. Praise G-d you are so good to us. Thank you L-rd for the gift of life given us. I give thanks eternal King for restoring my soul and giving me life.

Moses then reviewed with the Jewish people the laws prohibiting mixing wool and linen in garments, the laws governing cases of suspected unchaste behavior, adultery, rape, prostitution, forbidden marriages, conduct in battle, slavery, paying interest on loans, and keeping promises.

[Moses told the Jewish people,] “Observe and do whatever issues from your lips.” Deuteronomy 23:24

According to the Code of Jewish Law (the Shulchan Aruch), immediately upon waking up in the morning, our first words should be: “I offer thanks to You, living and eternal King, for You have mercifully restored my soul within me; Your faithfulness is great.”

These, our first words each day, are the issuance of our lips that we should observe and preserve throughout the day. In this way, our gratefulness to G‑d influences our attitudes and conduct throughout the day, infusing them with joy, and similarly affects all those around us.1 Likutei Sichot, vol. 24, p. 296.

http://www.chabad.org/dailystudy/dailywisdom.asp?tdate=09%2F14%2F2016

Leave a Reply

