The Sixties Radical- Azriel

thmi0ke66n

These are some of lessons that I have learned from Rabbi Gordon’s daily lessons on the Tanya. These lessons tie in perfectly with what my teacher Pastor Steve Gray teaches me at World Revival Church Kansas City.

The following sentences are paraphrased from the teachings of Rabbi Gordon.

Animal soul wants us to be a human being. The second soul is G-dly. This is a chunk of G-dliness. The second soul is literally a chunk of G-d. If I don’t like the way I feel I must study. It is a slow process to change the way I feel. Study, study, study.

Slowly you develop a love for G-d. It is the long slow way to G-dliness.

The Tanya: “The soul possesses three auxiliary powers, which are its instruments of expression. Like garments, they can be donned or shed at will. When the soul utilizes any of these three powers it is “clothed” in them; when it does not use them, it is “divested” of them. Also, just as garments give expression to their wearer’s beauty and importance, so, too, when the soul dons and utilizes these “garments”, its intellect and emotion find expression.”

The garments of the soul are what I say, think, and say.

Garments of the G-dly soul are the mitzvahs that I do. It is all about action. I must take action.

It is what I say think, say and do.

I must learn how to be a Jew.

I must study Torah. I need to study about Judaism.

To become G-dly I must put on the garments of action, speech, and thinking about Torah.

The Tanya states:” The soul possesses three auxiliary powers, which are its instruments of expression. Like garments, they can be donned or shed at will. When the soul utilizes any of these three powers it is “clothed” in them; when it does not use them, it is “divested” of them. Also, just as garments give expression to their wearer’s beauty and importance, so, too, when the soul dons and utilizes these “garments”, its intellect and emotion find expression.”

If my garments are garments for his G-dly soul I will think of Torah. This means I will think of G-dly things. If my garments are of non-G-dly things I will think of non-G-dly things. Therefore, what I occupy my time with is what I will think about.

The Tanya adds: “the person’s speech is immersed in the study of Torah which includes the exposition of the commandments. For example, Tractate Berachot deals with the commandments and the laws of blessings; Tractate Shabbat deals with the commandments and laws of Shabbat observance, etc.,”

Soul powers are intellect and emotion. I must ask myself this question every day. What do I fear? What do I love? If I fear only G-d I will liberate myself from all other fears.

There is a basic principle that no one does anything they don’t want to do if they don’t love or fear that person. The hard part is make sure that what I love and fear is Kosher. I must make sure that  what I love and fear is healthy and appropriate. If I don’t I will get into a lot of trouble.

True love of G-d is the root source of all of the 240 positive commandments in the Torah. I must learn to truly love G-d. I must to love G-d so I truly perform the mitzvahs given to us at Mount Sinai.

I can’t do mitzvahs out of fear I must truly love G-d. And this ties into Pastor Steve Gray teaches me that I must die to self and forgive everyone. The only way I can love an invisible G-d is to love my wife, family and my fellow people of G-d.

Footnotes from the Tanya lesson; 1.Mishnah, Peah 1:1.2. Tikkunei Zohar, Tikkun 30.

3.See further, ch. 23.

Leave a Reply

