Did you live for Yeshua or did you live for yourself?

images9484tvjf

Pastor Steve Gray’s sermon on Friday September 23rd at World Revival Church sums it up best live for Yeshua not for our own selfish pleasures. Put Yeshua first and die to self. This is hard yet it must be done in order to please HaShem.

When I die and go to the judgement room I will be asked one question “Did I live for Yeshua or did you for yourself?

This question scares me. So I ask G-d every day to get all things that are not of G-d out of my life. Please show me how to die to self and live for Yeshua.

G-d has given me talents to use for the glory of G-d. When G-d asks me how come you weren’t like Moshe I have an answer for HIM. G-d when did you appear to me in a burning bush.

When G-d asks me how come you weren’t like Avraham I have an answer for HIM. When did you give me the wisdom and kindness of Avraham?

When G-d asks me how come you weren’t like Robert this scares me for I don’t have an answer for G-d. (I paraphrased this from Rabbi Dov Greenberg’s talk on The Life’s Four Questions)

Therefore I must die to self and do what I was born to do live and serve HaShem and do acts of kindness, generosity and G-dliness to pave the way for Yeshua to come back again.

Moses explained why it was necessary to renew and strengthen the covenant that G‑d first forged with the Jewish people at Mount Sinai, 40 years prior. Perhaps in the intervening 40 years, some of them began to think that they could avoid G‑d’s corrective punishment if they would be disloyal to Him.

[Moses told the Jewish people not to try] “to add the drunken to the thirsty.” Deuteronomy 29:18

We possess two souls: a Divine soul, which seeks to enhance our relationship with G‑d, and a human/animal soul, which seeks physical comfort and the pleasures of secular intellectual stimulation.

The pleasures that our human/animal soul craves are more readily available in our physical world, so it is “drunk” compared to our Divine soul, which thirsts for G‑dliness. Only in the Messianic future, when G‑dliness will be openly revealed, will the Divine soul be “drunk” with Divinity.

In the meantime, our human/animal souls attempt to “add the drunken to the thirsty.” This side of our personality knows that material pleasures are too shallow to satisfy us in any meaningful or long-lasting way. Yet, it deceptively argues that the spiritual fulfillment that our Divine soul seeks in the study of the Torah, prayer, and the performance of G‑d’s commandments are more readily available to us in the enticements of this world.

Our challenge in life is not to listen to this voice, but to listen instead to the inner voice of our Divine soul and order our priorities in accordance with both our and G‑d’s true interests.1 Or HaTorah, Devarim, p. 1193

http://www.chabad.org/dailystudy/dailywisdom.asp?tdate=09%2F27%2F2016